Santos

My work sells Santos, big ones, small ones, but this one really caught my eye. I HAD to have it. Alas, I bought it. I managed to find some information on it too!

“This gorgeous Santos bust is a limited edition that we wish we could have more of!”

I had no idea they were mostly consider females, they look pretty androgynous to me.

I made mine its own crown, since they are also seen wearing crowns and I knew it would be forever until I found one to purchase, and it would probably be way pricey.

Here’s some more snippets about Santos carvings:

“The Santos that started the genre of dolls we currently represent (primarily Spanish Colonial and Western European style), were originally started as copies of 17th century carvings by priests. Originally, Santos were created for use as in-home altars.  They were needed in small villages that did not have a priest, as well as for when it was not possible to travel to church, such as during times of war.  Their development flourished in Europe  in the 1700’s and 1800’s, primarily due to these wars.”

“The dolls emulate the image of Christ, The Virgin Mary, Patron Saints, as well as other notable figures in biblical history.”

DSC_1383 DSC_1382 DSC_1381

how neat! I love polymer, it’s so versatile. Those stars were really old hematite beads I never got around to using them all. It was a challenge to get that shape of the crown, while it may look wonky, I like it.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

